Ask Zeriyah Part 3

  • Sar
    Starting the new thread since the old one reached post cap.
  • 07/18/2013 05:46 PMPosted by Thon
    If a minion has Divine Shield, and gets Polymorphed...does the Sheep have divine shield? Or does divine shield go away because it's no longer in the card text?


    When a minion is affected by a transform effect such as Polymorph or Hex, everything about the minion is changed and all effects are removed. For example if a minion has Divine Shield, Blessing of Kings, Blessing of Might and +1/+1, when they are polymorphed they lose everything and become a basic 1/1 sheep.

    Hi Zeriyah!

    Based one of your posts, I know that you can target Lord Jaraxxus, EREDAR LORD OF THE BURNING LEGION!!! with Sacrificial Pact (formerly Grimoire of Sacrifice), whether he is acting as a minion or a hero.

    However, I am unclear as to what happens after he is targeted if he is in the Hero position. It is my assumption that either:
    1) Jaraxxus is destroyed, and the player, no longer having a Hero, loses;
    2) Jaraxxus is destroyed, and Gul'dan comes back with the same HP he had before summoning Jaraxxus; OR
    3) Jaraxxus is destroyed, and Gul'dan comes back with the same HP Jaraxxus had before being destroyed.


    Even as a Hero, Jaraxxus is still a demon. If he is the target of Sacrificial Pact, he will be destroyed and the Jaraxxus player will lose the game.

  • I too am a bit confused by this response. So according to this, if I buff a minion's health, damage it, then silence it, it sounds as if it can't die from that silence. It also sounds as if if I took a 3/3 minion (unbuffed) and damage it for 2 damage and then silence it, it will still be at 1 health.

    Am I take to from this that when I silence a health buff off a target, it maintains whatever health it had at the moment of the silence BUT if that's more than it's new maximum health that its health is now set to the new maximum health?

    To give an example if I understand this clearly. Let's take Alexstraza, 8/8. Now let's buff her to 12/12 with Blessing of Kings. If I understand correctly, if she was dealt 2 damage, she'd be 12/10 with a max health of 12; if she were to be silenced, she'd become 8/8 with a max health of 8. Next, if she were buffed to 12/12 and took 5 damage, she'd be 12/7 with a max health of 12; if she were to be silenced, she'd become a 8/7 with a max health of 8. Is this understanding correct?


    I can give you the way it currently works, but the way buffs, damage and Silence resolve is something we're currently working on to make sure it's concise and intuitive. Since the way it currently works may change, I'd like to come back to this question at a later time. Sorry for the confusion! That's what we're trying to avoid. :)

    07/19/2013 03:12 AMPosted by Kargen
    Not sure if this has been asked before, but is Animal Companion like the Shaman's hero power in that it cannot summon something that is already on the board (e.g. I have Misha in play, so is Misha no longer able to be summoned by Animal Companion)?


    Each minion brought into play with Animal Companion has the same chance to be summoned regardless if one has been summoned previously or is currently in play. Is it entirely possible to have two Misha in play. (Mishae? Mishas?)

  • Here is the chain that I want to know if it happens with needing clarifications.

    -I play Greater Heal
    -Opponent has 5 cards equaling 10 Health restore (to opponent).
    -Prophet Velen kicks in to double the HEALING to 20
    -Auchenai Soulpriest kicks in now to make it 20 DAMAGE

    ***At this point, now that the HEALING as been converted to DAMAGE, does Prophet Velen kick in again to double the 20 DAMAGE to 40 DAMAGE?

    This is a question, like some others, that boils down to which card has priority and also if a card such as Prophet Velen effect can be tapped twice in such a manor.

    Interesting if yes, but understand if not. Further clarifications welcomed!


    In your example, you would deal 20 damage. The Greater Heal would heal for 10 if your opponent has 5 cards in hand. The healing is turned into damage from the Soulpriest, then is doubled by Prophet Velen.

    07/22/2013 07:50 AMPosted by Basylle
    Sorry if I missed this somewhere else. If I cast Blessing of Wisdom on an enemy minion, who gets to draw when that minion attacks? I was wondering if this might be used offensively as a deterrent.


    The player that cast Blessing of Wisdom will get to draw a card.

    these Ask Zeriyah threads wouldn't comment cap so quickly if people just asked and waited for potential blue responses, instead of having long conversations about "what if it's this?" or "What if it's that?"...

    post question, move on...eventually Zeriyah may answer it.

    Here's an example:
    Dear Zeriyah,

    Did you pursue working in the game industry from an early age? Or did you sort of fall into it through your pursuit of work in PR/marketing + your love of gaming?


    I'm not sure if this is an actual question but I'll answer it anyway!

    More of the latter - I greatly enjoy working with people, learning new things from others, sharing interests, ideas, and listening to those passionate about gaming just as much as I am. There's nothing quite like having a shared experience with someone just as interested in something as you are, except now I don't only get to have those experiences, I get to help create more of them for everyone to share in as well. And that's awesome.

    ...but as a child I was fascinated by eyeballs.
  • Hi Zeriyah

    I have a few questions, that I hope you will answer.

    1. If I have a Imp Master on the battlefield with only 1 hp left and I play Commanding Shout. Does the Imp Master's ability still tricker at the end of my turn even that the Imp Master can't go below 1 hp.?


    For Imp Master’s ability to trigger, she deals damage to herself. Even though she cannot go below 1 health, the one damage can still be dealt. Since the damage is dealt, the Imp is created and the Commanding Shout prevents the Imp Master from being destroyed.

    2. If you have 2 Pint-Sized Summoner on the battlefield, does their abilities stack?


    Yes - this question has been answered here.

    Quick shaman question. If you have a totem out (like the healing one), you faceless manipulate it to get two and the original one dies then can it still be re-summoned or does the one that got faceless manipulated prevent it from getting re-summoned?

    Also, if you brewmaster one into your hand, summon a new one and the re-summoned one (not the re-played one) dies then can you still get another back on the field of the same type with your hero power?


    The Shaman’s hero power is based on what is on the battlefield. The only way to get 2 of the same Totem out is to play one from your hand while one of the same is already in play. Regardless of where the totem came from, the hero power will never summon one that is already in play.

    07/24/2013 04:46 PMPosted by badjar
    If a minion with Overload is summoned by Alarm-O-Bot or similar means does the overload trigger? What if a minion with Divine Shield is hit with Snipe?


    The Overload ability works as an additional cost. If the mana cost isn’t paid when the minion enters play, Overload will not go into effect. This means cards that bring minions into play outside of the conventional summoning method, such as Alarm-O-Bot or Ancestral Spirit, will not trigger Overload.

    If a minion with Divine Shield is hit with Snipe, the damage will be prevented, Divine Shield will be removed and the minion will enter play.
  • 07/26/2013 11:20 PMPosted by Kkmoiris
    Also, let's say we have a Paladin. He has 1 health left. He plays Holy Wrath and draws a Molten Giant. Does Holy Wrath deal 20 damage because Molten Giant's original cost is 20 or does it deal 0 damage because Molten Giant now costs 0?


    The Holy Wrath would deal 0 damage. The cost of the Molten Giant is constantly updated even as he is in your deck so when you get the draw it, it will match the cost of when it is in your hand. This is the same for Sea Giant (for minions on the field) and Mountain Giant (with cards in hand) as well.
  • deathrattle/effect question:

    doomsayer + sylvanas windrunner
    vs
    any minion with ancestral spirit

    do deathrattle trigger as "fast" as battlecry affects and sylvanas would have no target or does ancestral spirit trigger before?


    In this case, Doomsayer and Sylvanas will trigger and resolve before Ancestral Spirit goes off. Doomsayer will destroy all minions on the board, then Sylvanas' ability will try to take control of a minion. There will be no valid targets in play, and her ability will fizzle. After all that, Ancestral Spirit will bring back the minion.
  • Hello, Zeriyah!
    A few questions for you, plz.

    1. Can I heal a minion or a hero with full hp?
    2. If I already have a 6 minions on battlefield and play another one (like Murloc Tidehunter) who summon another one too.. what will happen?


    1. You can cast a heal on them, but since no damage will actually be healed, effects that trigger when healing is done will not fire.

    2. The extra minion will not be cast at all. If there is only 1 available slot left in your minion row, the minion you first cast will fill that spot and the minion it creates will not happen.
  • 08/01/2013 08:06 AMPosted by azj6
    Lets say I play a card that increases spell power. Does that spell power effect my spells or both mine and my opponent?


    Only your spells.
  • Holy Wrath
    Draw a card and deal damage equal to its cost.

    Do I have to choose the target before seeing which card was drawn?


    Correct. You will cast Holy Wrath by selecting a target, then the card will be drawn and the damage will be dealt.